The Perfect Strawberry Cake 1

L and Light

Ayumi Miyamoto: 19 years old;Sagittarius; Five months ago,has left Yamaguchi to go to Tokyo and attend university there. A girl who likes the new taste of freedom and is mostly egoist. She enjoys scaring people away and doesn’t mind being weird. And she wonders why she doesn’t have a boyfriend. She hopes to become photographer or something around that sector.

The unexpected appearance of her cousin pushes her into a world of suspense, mystery and death.

“Welcome Miyamoto-san. I am Ryuusaki, otherwise known as L.”

She wasn’t prepared for this. At all.

……………………………………………………………………………………

‘Well,I’ll be going now.” I forced a small smile at my parents before stepping out the door.
My mother gave me a teared-eyed look,mustering up the courage to say good-bye while my father was comforting her and my little brother was picking his nose with a deadpanned look.
What a nice way to see how he cares. Little brat.
I started walking out,ready to get out of this little town,to find a new life, new friends, and perhaps, a new man. THIS was the beginning of my life.

“HELLO AYUMI !!!” A shrill voice interrupted my collecting of thoughts. I jumped from my seat,grabbing my chest.

A cute girl my age with short brown hair was grinning stupidly at me.

”Having a good day?” She was practically jumping in her seat.

Uh,yeah.

A middle aged woman -The Librarian- hissed at Yumi,who continued to ignore everything around her (meaning the glares she was getting) and smile stupidly at me.

“What are you doing here?” I blinked slowly at her before moving away from her. I glanced around my location,realizing piece by piece what I had been doing.

“Have you seen Yuujiro-kun?” My voice came out as a hoarse whisper, while I ran a hand through my hair which reached my shoulder blades.

Analyzing the situation, I’d have to say that Yuujiro-kun just ditched me. I sighed in irritation before Yumi was about to tell me the answer that I already knew. Shit. How was I supposed to finish my report now? It was due in a few months and I didn’t have any time seeing as how I had to go to work for the next five days.
Getting angry wasn’t going to do anything. I sat back in my seat and opening the nearest book next to me.

“What are you doing,Ayumi?” Yumi asked,dropping her voice to a more discreet tone,and sat across from me. “Are you going to study even without-”

“I, Ayumi Miyamoto, WILL finish this project with or without the help of others.” I had cut her off,turning again the pages without actually reading what was written.

….

Hours. I don’t know how long I’ve been here,but seeing the look on the librarian’s face meant that I’ve been here long enough. Meaning I wasted a afternoon off without advancing in my studies.
I had a look close to tearing up in public and frowned while putting away the books and borrowed two others so I could continue on at home.

Yumi followed me around with a apologetic smile until we reached our apartment door. She,my roommate of five months,opened the door letting us in. She closed the door behind her and took off her shoes as I did mine.

“If you’re about to cry, I’m here.” Yumi spoke for the first time after we left the library.

“I’m not about to cry because of that.” I snorted,passing through the hallway and installing myself on two futons-Mine and Yumi’s- that were on the floor.

Yumi came over and turned on the television,just like every late afternoon, except when we had studying sessions or meetings.
Being at Toudai wasn’t the most fun place to stay after courses. But we had no choice,since we lived in the residential parts of the campus and had nothing else to do.
My stomach grumbled, making me remember to feed myself after a wasted day. Yumi’s bright chocolate eyes turned away from her anime series to stare at me.

“Hungry? You can eat the leftover curry from last night.” She said,and turned back to the television rapidly after hearing a certain:”CHIDORI !” from a character.

I wasn’t in the mood for leftover curry. And the familiar scent of ramen noodles entered my nostrils. Probably came from upstairs.
Eating ramen wouldn’t be so bad. And I’m sure there’s still some left around the kitchen.

Suddenly, Yumi screamed. In a dramatic fake way.

“SASUKE!! WHY TV?WHY?!”

I raised an eyebrow,walking back towards the room.

“What happened?” I asked a crying Yumi. I couldn’t believe she was such an otaku behind her mask.

“Damn TV…” She pointed at the television where where a message was on.

‘Apologies,We interrupt our regularly scheduled programming to bring you this special report.’

“What fucking report is more special than NARUTO! Come on! Naruto vs. Sasuke!” Yumi raised her hands to grab her short hair and seemed to pull on them. Hard.

“Yumi ! Calm down !” I shushed her and waited ’till the message was gone. A man appeared,and spoke in a rushed way. “We apologize for interrupting our normal programming. A live international broadcast from the ICPO,Interpol,will now begin.”

“Why do we CARE?” Yumi was right. But unless it had something to do with world domination-insert snort- or something,we really didn’t care.

“So here it is.”

The scene changed and another man appeared with a more serious face (My type of man,except for the way his hair was). “I am the one person who controls the entire planet’s police force, Lind L. Taylor alias,L.”

Yumi and I shared confused looks.

“To the murderer who’s targeting criminal after criminal: This is unforgivable; the worst crime in history. Consequently, I will catch the ringleader of these crimes,referred to vulgarly as “Kira”. I can imagine what you must be thinking,to do something like this. But,what you are doing is EVIL.”

I sat absentmindedly on the floor, absorbing what he had said.
Kira,
killing,
crime,
and L. Did the police really have a head named like that? How come we only learn about him now?

Yumi didn’t say anything from her part. Her eyes seemed in deep concentration,looking at the television,waiting for something.
Was this some kind of prank? I doubt it was,but what just happened had a taste of falseness.
The man without warning screamed, clutching his chest before his head fell on the desk.

Forget what I said earlier and add it here. THIS was fake. A sick joke.

I would not believe this.

The scene changed once more,as if we were traumatized enough,and a fancy written L came on. A voice, which was obviously disguised spoke out,
“I don’t believe it. This was an experiment to test a hunch I had,but I never thought that…KIRA. You can actually kill people without making any physical contact. I didn’t believe it,until I saw it with my own eyes.”
I still couldn’t make any noise,still shocked about seeing a death happen in front of the TV. Even through it was real… It felt so unreal to believe any of this was actually happening this very second,in my life.

Leave a Reply

