What To Watch For Summer?


Don’t ‘cha feel happy when you see a long-awaited post from yours truly?

As everyone reading this in the Northern Hemisphere might have noticed, summer is here brightening our mundane lives until next month. The most fortunate ones spend this blessed period by going on vacation, while the “others”, abandoned by the fortunate ones, have no choice but to stay at home, away from the dangerous outside world that threatens to eat them up whole.

Due to a few circumstances, this year I belong to the category of the “others”. At first, I did not care about the fact that I was to spend my summer vacation at home since I was quite busy with errands and whatnot, but now that I have completed my tasks and find myself with a lot of free time on my hands, I’ve decided to squander the remaining time I have of my summer vacation to watch anime that I did not have the chance to finish or to watch before in the past. In other words, this long-awaited post will be about my short impressions of the anime I’m currently watching.

Spice and Wolf


Synopsis:

With his carthorse as his only companion, the young merchant Kraft Lawrence slowly wends his way through dusty back roads in search of profitable trade. But this monotony screeches to a halt when, one night, he encounters a harvest goddess in the guise of a beautiful young girl…with wolf ears and a tail! Longing for the northern lands of her birth, Holo the Wisewolf joins Lawrence as he follows the ebb and flow of trade through the countryside. And when the two come across a compelling but suspicious opportunity for profit, will Lawrence with his mercantile chops and Holo with her ancient instincts be able to separate the truth from the lies — and make some coin while they’re at it?

Thoughts:

Let’s be honest here: the first episodes of Spice and Wolf bored me to tears. Instead of learning a bit about Horo’s or Lawrence’s mysterious pasts (come on, Lawrence must have an intriguing past), we were forced to learn about the ways of a traveling merchant- in this case, Lawrence. Having recently finished high school, and with that my economy classes until next year, re-entering the wonderful and complicated world of business was not fun at all. Fortunately, the story doesn’t fully revolve around business or else my saturated brain wouldn’t take it anymore, regardless of the beautiful Horo- er, I mean, artwork.

InuxBoku SS

Synopsis:

The Shirakiin house’s daughter, Shirakiin Ririchiyo, who has a complex about being unable to live independently and unprotected, feels the need to move out and live on her own under the condition of residing in the mansion named “Ayakashi Kan.” In this mansion, only those who have cleared a very strict examination could reside in it, and for each resident, they are accompanied with one agent of the Secret Service (S.S.). Although Riricho has rejected the company of the S.S., while residing in the mansion she finds out that the agent dedicated to protecting her is actually the Fox Spirit whom she previously rescued.

Thoughts:

If you read this post on my first impressions of winter anime, you can see that my thoughts on InuxBoku SS were far from positive. However, since I am a very persistent person who tries to see the good things in just about everything, I’ve given it another chance, but my opinion on InuxBoku SS hasn’t changed a bit…at least for the moment.

Ah! My Goddess


Synopsis:

Keiichi Morisato is looking forward to university life. But in reality, he has no luck in anything, and he has trouble with clubs, love, etc. The truth is that he has an unlucky star above his head. One day, Keiichi is stuck watching the dorm while his sempai are away, and has a mountain of chores to do to boot. But Keiichi is a good-natured person, and is set about doing his duties. As he is about to finish his final chore, he makes a phone call to his sempai. But the words that came through the receiver are, ‘Goddess Help Line.’ Shortly afterwards, a beautiful goddess named Belldandy appears in front of him from the mirror of his room.

Thoughts:

While Ah! My Goddess can be sickly sweet, it can also be terribly boring/frustrating to watch due to the calm and adorable stories of Belldandy and Keniichi. Boring, since the characters live in a peaceful and-very-close-to-utopic world, and frustrating because Belldandy’s and Keiichi’s relationship is comparable to one between two 10 year olds (Yes, I went there. Come at me, bro!). We’ve all heard of slow relationships given that they’re the best type of relationships to have when you’re ~in love~, but that of Keniichi and Belldandy takes slow relationships to a whole new level- it’s no wonder Belldandy’s awesome older sister forces them to take new steps. Apart from the cute love, this classic harem is a must-watch thanks to the colorful and hilarious characters you see in the anime.

Princess Jellyfish


Synopsis: Amamizukan is an apartment complex where no boys are allowed. Tsukimi, a girl who adores jellyfish, lives there happily with her friends who all have nerdy obsessions of their own. Their peaceful lives gradually start to change when a beautiful woman helps Tsukimi out of a pinch. She stays overnight at the apartments—but it turns out “she” is really a “he”.

Thoughts:

I-Is this what you call love at first sight? Why is this shojo anime perfect? Why am I only watching this now?

Trinity Blood

Synopsis:
The background is in the distant future after the destruction brought about by Armageddon. The war between the vampires and the humans continue to persist. In order to protect the humans from the vampires, Vatican has to rely on other allies to counter the situation. The protagonist, a priest called Peter Abel Nightroad, travels through the countries as a representative for the Vaticans. However, he is also part of “Ax”, a special operations group controlled by the Cardinal Catherina. His encounter with a young girl called Esther will determine the struggle and survival between the human race and the vampires.

Thoughts:

I’ve watched a few episodes of Trinity Blood before when I was completely unaware of what the story was about. The only thing I knew was the name of the main character and how he was a part of the Vatican (I think). It was a pretty fun shojo anime to watch and before I knew it, I became attracted to the ambiance given in the anime. However, due to a few unsuspecting changes in my life, I had forgotten about Trinity Blood until just recently.

Sayonara Zetsunou Sensei

Synopsis: Itoshiki Nozomu is the world’s most negative person. To his way of thinking, there is no hope or meaning in this existence. Even the three kanji of his name become the two-kanji word zetsubou, “despair”, when compressed. What an ironic twist of fate, then, that he becomes teacher to a class containing his precise opposite, the invincibly positive-minded Fuura Kafuka.

Thoughts:

I’ve already heard of this well-known anime but refused to watch it for many reasons, such as the character design and the fact that the main character always attempted suicide when things didn’t go his way, but after being, let’s say “encouraged”, I’ve given it another chance.

…Now to watch it before the end of the month.

3 thoughts on “What To Watch For Summer?

  1. That was a nice post. I was amused to hear that you were bored by all the business details–one of the things that really separates this show from other ones. At least, there’s still the conflict between the Church and paganism and all the amusing banter between Holo and Lawrence to keep the show interesting. I will say that if you’re hoping for the lives of these characters to have been interesting prior to this point, you’re out of luck. There’s nothing much to their past histories either in the anime or the novels. The story always focuses on the present, near future, or ways of someday attaining the goal of finding Yoitsu.

    I only ever got as far as episode one with Ah! My Goddess! Kosuke Fujishima’s other work, You’re Under Arrest–especially the first season, was much more interesting. Though, I will admit that the way the second season ended made me unsure of whether to watch the third.

    • I don’t hate business, but I wasn’t looking forward to see Spice and Wolf revolve around it. Good thing there’s the religious conflict between and pagans and the Church going on then.

      Really? :/ How sad. I would have loved to learn more about their pasts. Then again focusing on the present and near-future, as you said, isn’t such a bad thing after all.

      I’ve heard of You’re under arrest before, but I’ll have to admit that I wasn’t interested in watching it. Maybe I’ll add it to my next summer list? :D

  2. Pingback: Reference Resource Mondays | Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

Leave a Reply

