My Top 12 Anime Of 2012: Noona Naru Style!

Gintama

That time of the year has once again appeared in the anibloggosphere, where a good number of writers select their top favorite anime of the year. Initially, I had planned to make a comeback do a big mashup of the most remarkable things that took place this year similar to what I did at the end of last year, however participating in Kidd’s yearly Ani-Blogger’s Choice Awards seemed like a much more tempting thing to try out first. As much as anibloggers write about anime, not every reader knows precisely what anime has captivated us. You might find surprises, or disappointments. You might even be so disappointed in an aniblogger’s taste of anime that you decide overreact and give up on reading their blog!

…Certes, it’s an interesting way of seeing what you have in common with an anibloggers regarding anime.


12. Magi

Aladdin (Magi)

It’s not bad, but it’s not great either. When I first heard about Magi, I found it hard to appreciate since the main characters are counterparts of Aladdin and Alibaba from One Thousand and One Nights. At least I believe so due to the fact Magi’s Aladdin has a Genie and a magic carpet at his disposition- (But still, a teenage Alibaba and child-Aladdin is a hard pill to swallow) Anyway, since I like Ohtaka’s work (mainly for her Sumomomo Momomo manga) and that the Magi anime was going to be aired, I decided to try it out. And I ended up liking it thanks to its Role Playing Game-inspired concept. Clearing dungeons made by Magi at the price of your life? Hell yeah I’m watching this!

N-not for Judal, of course.

11. Mouretsu Pirates (Bodacious Space Pirates)

Mouretsu Pirates - 15 - Large 21

I really did not have a good opinion on this before it was aired. My first thoughts about Mouretsu Pirates: Teenage pirates + skirts=100% fanservice? I’ve decided to ignore it and look the other way until my curiosity got the better of me. Watching the space adventures of a newly appointed Pirate Captain who learns the ropes while balancing her school and social life was mildly amusing for me. Unfortunately, there were times when nothing, and I mean nothing eventful at all happened during an episode and you had to wonder if what was the use of watching it. Learning the background of a random teenage crew member? You tried guys, but all I cared about was Marika and Chiaki.

10. Another

Mei-chan

I bet everyone has forgotten about this little jewel of a horror anime? I’m not so sure if Another succeeded in marking a large number of spirits; the character design didn’t seem to correspond with the horror genre, Mei had no purpose, and the main intrigue (“What exactly is killing the students?”) quickly died out, but nonetheless, I enjoyed it. Another was the first horror anime that I have ever watched and I’m glad it didn’t rub me in the wrong way.

9. Joshiraku

JoshirakuNever anger the rabbit lord.

Cute girls doing crazy things. Add in a little rakugo and you have Joshiraku! What’s not to like? …No seriously, what?

8. Binbougami Ga!

Binbougami gaThis is totally not a parody of D**** Note

Comedy has always been my favorite genre, let it be in anime or in other media. I don’t care how ridiculous or horrible the story is, as long as it’s hilarious. Binbougami was pretty much the case for me: A God of Misfortune chasing after a high school girl with high fortune? Guys, don’t tell me this wasn’t ridiculous.

Ahem. Moving on, my only reason for watching Binbougami Ga was (You’ve guessed it) for the comedy. The story had some touching moments, though, but I didn’t pay much attention to it.

7. Sakamichi no Apollon

Kids on the Slope

Not once was I bored while viewing Sakamichi no Apollon. I remember every week, finding myself at the edge of my seat, and cursing the anime for being only twenty-three minutes long. The music was very present as promised, and if my (or rather my family’s) taste in jazz is as good as I believe it is, Sakamichi no Apollon did not randomly pick a few American jazz music to put into the limelight. However, the music in Sakamichi no Apollon was just the stimulus to the story. What really took me in was the relationship between Kaoru and Sentaro, two boys who practically shared nothing in common and somehow, became friends. I admit, my fujoshi side had something to do with my interest in Sentaro and Kaoru, but trust me, it was tame this time.

6. Kimi to Boku 2

kimi to boku

Cute guys doing cute things. Thankfully, this season focused more on the romantic situations of our four boys rather than pointless things, so as a result I gave it more attention than I have accorded the first season. The romance shown in Kimi to Boku was not of the shoujo-kind, such as “young boy falls in love with girl who shares his feelings”. Rather than that, Kimi to Boku was basically full of one-sided love stories, where our boys had feelings for someone they knew couldn’t return their feelings. Being a person who has seen enough happy romances for a lifetime in anime, Kimi to Boku was absolutely refreshing. Also, there aren’t many stories out there that show the point of view of a boy in love.

5. Hyouka

Hyouka

How could I not forget the beauty that was Hyouka? Beautifully animated scenes, attaching characters who were more complex than we would imagine, and that little dash of magic used to transform a small mystery of everyday life into something much more dramatic, yes, Hyouka was fantastic. And I would gladly buy it if it ever comes in my country.

4. Danshi Kokosuei no Nichijou (Daily Lives of High School Boys)

DLHSBMy favorite ending of 2012

Think about Joshiraku, but with high school boys who have no other activities in life but trolling. Seeing as this was an anime from Sunrise, the same company behind Gintama, I had to watch it since I knew I would be missing something big.

3. Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita (Humanity Has Declined)

JintaiIt was either this or an image of a naked fairy. Make your choice.

Jintai wins for managing to be serious and not serious at the same time. No one really expected that an anime with candy-loving Fairies would handle the topic of civilization without looking ridiculous, yet hey! It made third place.

2. HunterxHunter

HunterxHunterI wouldn’t touch Uvogin with a twenty-nine and a half foot pole~!

Now you must be wondering why The HunterxHunter took second place instead of first. The York New arc which has ended two weeks ago gave me the impression the story was moving incredibly slowly, and honestly, as much as I was interested in seeing Kurapika get his revenge, the Phantom Troupe and its members failed to amaze me.

1. Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure

JoJoAHHH, JOJO’S TOMORROW!

It’s the reason why weekdays kill me deeply inside. Waiting for the new episode of Jojo during the week is comparable to a walk in the desert for little ol’ me. My favorite Jojo has yet to come (Giorno? Maybe…), so you can perfectly picture my impatience clawing inside of me like a monster ready to jump out and attack. Even if I am very eager for the series to head on to my favorite part, I’m also very satisfied with the current pacing of the series. It’s neither too fast or too slow, which gives us enough time to learn and appreciate the main characters of each arc.

 

4 thoughts on “My Top 12 Anime Of 2012: Noona Naru Style!

  1. For Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, I think I would have preferred the naked fairy. That one’s definitely on my to-watch list. In fact, I might go start it now. And as for HunterxHunter — Grinch references for the win! After all I’ve heard about JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, it’s definitely one I’m adding to my to-watch, as well.

    • Thirteen episodes go by quickly. You honestly won’t see the time go by with Jintai. And I like your taste, lady (nekkid Fairies are lolz)!

      Aw shucks, you’ve noticed that reference? Have a cookie :3

      If you want to watch Jojo, you should start watching it quickly before it reaches the twenty episodes mark. You probably might not like it at first, but give it a chance. Oh, and episode thirteen is coming up~

  2. Many of the shows you mentioned are also on my list. Awesome! Magi, Hunter x Hunter didnn’t make my list due to not being interested in them. Jojo 2012 was due to time constranints , meaning Video Game Mode and College.

    Hyouka, I just labeled it as a mainstream otaku sweetheart, which in my mind, translates to “Meh, I’ll save it for later”.

    While Another failed to be a horror show, it succeeded in being creepy and a good Final Destination animated series. Kudos to it for that.

    While I enjoyed Joshiraku, I loved Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita.

    Mouretsu Pirates…Mouretsu Pirates…Mouretsu Pirates….Mouretsu Pirates…Mouretsu Pirates…Mouretsu Pirates…

    Mouretsu Pirates = Overlord-G’s anime loving soul.

    Wasn’t it “39 1/2 foot pole”?

  3. Pingback: AniBloggers Choice Anime Awards 2012: Winners | Kidds' Anime Blog

Leave a Reply

