12 Days of Anime: #11: Never step foot into a catfight

Oreimo Rabuuu

 

OreImo’s second season, as crazy and perhaps funny as it was, didn’t leave much of an impression on me. Once the first season ended on a good note, leaving no room for any more stories to be told in the anime adaptation, I immediately pushed everything Oreimo-related to the back of my mind and walked away from it, leaving it to collect dust and to a fate where it would be remembered once in a while whenever I heard the uber-cute opening theme or saw parodies of this novel cover:

 

Oreimo

 

However, one should never underestimate the perseverance fans have for a long-titled novel series and the power of moe, since by the time I was able to forget the names of every non-lolita character and how annoying Kirino truly was, a new season was announced. And regardless of how good it felt to see the characters again, season two paled in comparison to the last one. The secondary characters were given more screentime and we learned about how they were more than eye-rolling stereotypes – but the episodes concerning them were sans interest (unless you really wanted to know their backstory) and very easy to forget. And oh, how Oreimo 2 was so forgettable.

 

Ouchies (Oreimo)

 

Until Manami decided to step up and kick the snot out of our main heroine. Right before the end of the series.

PUNCH! (Oreimo)

Damn

 

By the time I realized how out-of-character my new favorite character had reacted to Kirino’s taunts, the scene had suddenly turned into a Street Fighter-like battle and Kirino was seriously getting beat out there.

Well she did deserve it. And I loved every second of it.

7 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime: #11: Never step foot into a catfight

  1. I said it before and I’ll say it again: The writers had balls for (hopefully) ending the second season the way they did.

    I’m glad I’m not the only person on this planet who saw the default ending as the best one and the “True Route” ending as unnecessary.

    • Haha, I didn’t seriously mind the True Ending since it answered questions that I sure wasn’t going to search for. But yeah, decent ending wins.

      The general problem I had with Oreimo 2 was the lack of consistency (or at least I had the impression) in the episodes. It seemed the writers were doing their best to annoy us,

      • I did say I respected what the writers. The entire season itself…ehhhh, generic rom-com. The rom-com nonsense was my least favorite part in season 1 and to have an entire second season mainly revolve around that…ehhhh. At least they SORT OF took the incest seriously.

      • Another bright side is that I’ll never have to see that pathetic, loathsome waste of flesh known as Kanako EVER AGAIN! I swear I would have hospitalized that girl if I ever met her in real life and feel no shame whatsoever afterward.

Leave a Reply

