A Late Fall 2014 Mid-Impressions Post

Depressed

Autumn’s shows haven’t been as interesting as last year’s and I’ve dropped quite a few in order to preserve what little sanity is left of me, but that doesn’t mean the season is a complete disappointment.

Well, completely anyway. Hence this excuse of a mid-season impressions mini-post.

 

Garo

[HorribleSubs] Garo - The Animation - 10 [1080p].mkv_20141215_160403.156

Traveling father and son by day, Horror-killing Knights by night, what’s not to love about Garo? Some might dislike it because it seems like an anime released way past its time, and I understand that. The art, characters (perhaps some of the music) and valiant hero story won’t please anyone but those who are either really want to take a break from the usual, or enjoy anything sending out 80’s vibes à la Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure.

I began watching Garo for both reasons and didn’t expect to stick to it until the end, but it’s pretty good and hasn’t disappointed me so far.

Now, if only it can stay consistent until the end…

 

Shingeki no Bahamut

shingeki

Also known as the anime making the most noise in the anime community this season. Being the curious person that I am, I went and tried the first episode of SnB, expecting half of the great things I’ve heard about it to be over-exaggerated blabbering, but it turned out to be such a pleasant surprise that I’ve been watching it ever since.

And since I’m unable to write a considerable length of good points about anything, you can re-read the paragraph above and pretend it’s just a new one in disguise. Or something. Don’t judge me.

 

Donten ni Warau

[HorribleSubs] Donten ni Warau - 01 [720p].mkv_20141010_111240.765

Out of all the shows that made the cut (for a short time), Donten ni Warau was the least interesting one to go through until the twist in episode six. I’ve talked about its weak points before, such as everyone sharing the same face, or how some of the characters were a pain, and unsurprisingly, they’re still here and not ready to change.

It’s a good thing that the series doesn’t rest entirely on its pretty visuals and actually has an interesting story to go with it, but considering how the main characters are at the moment, I can’t say I see them overcome the trouble we can see coming in the next episodes.

 

Shigatsu Kimi no Uso

[HorribleSubs] Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso - 01 [720p].mkv_20141012_185923.328

I’m pretty disappointed in myself and in the anime – the episodes were snooze-fests and since there was nothing holding me back from dropping the series, I left it without a second thought, only to regret it a little sometime after. Apparently, things have gotten more interesting, and unless I want to add it to my ever-growing On-Hold list I should catch up the episodes before the end of the season.

 

Sora no Method

[HorribleSubs] Sora no Method - 01 [720p].mkv_20141006_133328.750

Thinking this was going to be the new Nagi no Asukara, I went and jumped the ship…only to leave quickly afterwards. Similar to what happened with KimiUso, I fell for what was shown at the surface and not what was shown underneath: the characters’ background story, their real relation to Noel, and how relevant Noel actually is.

At the same time, the characters’ awkward personalities and the fact that the episodes were going nowhere were enough for me to drop it and walk away.

 

Writing something with more than 500 words and in relation to this season’s anime really does take a large part of the guilt I felt for not updating my blog last month. In my defense, I’d like to say the lack of good-and-wacky ideas were the reason oromywhat has been looking more and more like an abandoned place, but that’s too easy (even if it’s true).

Perhaps in 2015 things will look brighter? Who knows :P

One thought on “A Late Fall 2014 Mid-Impressions Post

  1. Well, so far they have not looked much brighter, but who knows? You need to watch Akatsuki no Yona if you haven’t . That was one of my favorite shows in the beginning of 2015; though, the story is very, very slow and filled with flashbacks until midway through the show.

    I’m glad that you liked Shingeki no Bahamut. I also found myself rather impressed with that show. I need to watch Garo.

Leave a Reply

