It’s a Bird ! No, a plane ! No! It’s…

Spring break has at last arrived in my corner of the woods and instead of wasting the end of this afternoon finishing Deus-knows-what, I told myself that had to blab talk about my favorite anime of the year sooner or later!

It’s already been a year since the first episode of Tiger&Bunny? How time goes by quickly… It seemed like it was just the other day when everyone fell for Kotetsu’s personality. As for our little Bunny-err, Barnaby, I’m not quite sure if he was as loved by the fans.

Not amusedKidding! Kidding!

From what I’ve heard, Tiger&Bunny is pretty known in Japan among anime fans, but is it the same case in the animebloggosphere?

Answering my own inquiry, I did a small investigation around the internet and it appears that Tiger&Bunny does ring a bell for some. However, I also found out that a good number haven’t considered watching the anime since it didn’t correspond to their tastes. People say it was too tacky, that the idea of superheros in anime wasn’t worth it, or even that the word Reality TV immediately made them click the other way.

 Quoted from Anime News Network:

Sternbild City is home to people called “Next,” who use their special abilities to protect the people as superheroes. These heroes solve cases and save lives so they can wear sponsor logos or acquire “hero points.” Their activities are documented on the popular program “Hero TV,” which picks the “King of Heroes” in a yearly ranking. The veteran hero Wild Tiger has always preferred to work alone, but now he’s been assigned the rookie Barnaby Brooks Jr., who has a different perspective on being a superhero.

In my messy and brief words, Tiger&Bunny is clearly centered on the veteran superhero Kotetsu (alias Wild Tiger) who is a little bit out of his time, and his new younger partner named Barnaby. Together, they fight crime in a TV reality show and at the same time, try to handle personal problems that may or may not be considered normal –it depends on how you see it. Kotetsu on one hand, tries to balance the life of a single father who hides his real identity to the world and his hero self to his own daughter. And on the other hand, we have the one who holds a very important part of the plot: Barnaby, who has a much more complicated and depressing lifestyle, one that I like to compare to Batman’s way of life.

Okay, so the story might not be as interesting as it really is or maybe I resumed it too quickly without going in the details, but it’s worth giving a try. I, for one, who has largely finished my superhero phase, fell for the goofy and awesome adventures of these guys. And seriously, I can’t wait for the upcoming movies.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Bird ! No, a plane ! No! It’s…

  1. Yes yes I agree I agree! Tiger&Bunny is not only my favorite anime of the year it’s one of my favorite anime ever.

    But I do agree it’s overlooked by a lot of people too, which is a shame because I think that even if the initial setting isn’t to one’s tastes there’s something to find for everyone in this.

    • YES, EXACTLY :D. It’s rather unfortunate that people always rely on what’s on the surface and never what’s really on the inside. Sunrise did an excellent job in staying true to the superhero image and adapting it (along with Reality TV) into a solid anime.

Leave a comment